Mercer Community Band
"Best Free Entertainment on a Friday Night"
Mercer, Pennsylvania

  2000 Concert Series

   Outstanding "First Year" Award
Theodore Patrick, trumpet
Frank Bauer, trombone

    Outstanding Musician Award
John Gillespie, trumpet
Rita Ferrere, trumpet

   Outstanding Service Award
Phil Runninger, trumpet

     Sam Shilling Scholarship
Amy Warner, trumpet


2002 Concert Series

Outstanding Musicians
Mike Schreck, trumpet
Howard Mossman, baritone

Outstanding First Year Awards
Dan Neikirk, baritone
Rachel Ranson, bass clarinet

Outstanding Service Award
Danielle Larocca, alto sax, Head Librarian

Community Band Scholarships
Emily Astey - music education - Penn State University
James English - music repair - Western Iowa Tech
Bill First - music repair - Western Iowa Tech
Sean Conlon - music education - Slippery Rock University
2003 Concert Series

Outstanding Musicians
Ron Heiman - Clarinet
Marie Riedesel - Flute
Marsha McKnight - Clarinet

Outstanding "First Year" Musicians
Amy Sabol - Bassoon
Melanie Haggard - Oboe

Outstanding Dedication Awards
Phil Wanchick
Cedrick and Roberta Butchy

Outstanding Patron Awards
AAMCO Transmission
Howard Johnson's Motor Lodge
Fox's Pizza Den

Community Band Scholarships
Becky DeLorenzo (clarinet) - Youngstown State Univesity
Saralyn Miller (French horn) - Slippery Rock University
Brian Kirkland (French horn) - Youngstown State University
Michelle Truax (clarinet) - Westminster College

Sam Shilling Scholarship
Rachel Ranson

Concert Schedule
Ice Cream Socials
Founding Highlights
Audience Comments
Past Pictures
Bicentennial Band
Patrons &
2001 Highlights
2002 Highlights
2003 Highlights
2004 Highlights
2004 Concert Series

Outstanding Musicians
William Shutes III, clarinet
Courtney Costa, alto clarinet

Outstanding First Year Musicians
Brenda Miller, French horn
Walter Luikart, string bass
Melanie Sekowski, clarinet

Award winners from previous years
2006 Concert Series

Outstanding Musicians
Tim Stevenson
Doug Butchy
Cheri Runninger

Outstanding Rookie Awards
Steve Hosmer
Louis Epstein

Outstanding Community Service
Karen McKnight
Debbie Thompson
2005 Concert Series

Outstanding Musicians
Lisa Hummel
Rob Heichel
D. Lee Caldwell

Outstanding Rookie Awards
Carol Jeffries
Chris Jeffries
Todd Obidowski

Outstanding Community Service
David and Laurie Ruhlman
Marks Music
American Legion Post #159
Please scroll down to view awards for each year
Back to Home Page